Beethoven's Violin Concerto in D Major, Op. 61

The greatest classical music at our fingerips at all times.

Behold, Itzhak Perlman with the Berliner Philharmoniker conducted by Daniel Barenboim performing Ludwig van Beethoven's Violin Concerto in D Major, Opus 61.

42 Minutes in 3 Movements: 
I. Allegro ma non troppo
II. Larghetto
III. Rondo
Composition in 1806 with publication one year later, dedication to Stephan von Breuning. Beethoven's intended violinist, for whom the piece was written for, could not play this piece in its  first two performances.

Rushed preparations and inadequate soloists (though still amazing players in their own right) were not received favorably by concert attendees.

Here, how can you not fall in love with Itzhak?

The conductor's prowess from 4:21-4:30. WOW. Some commentators write that Barenboim has not yet mastered orchestral conducting, but the obviousness of his movements in these seconds is...just...mesmerizing.

Like childhood dreams of conducting your OWN orchestra.

No comments:

Post a Comment

let's talk